J. Pierre Brunet Coach Award

The Dr. J. Pierre Brunet Coach Award was created in 2006 to recognize the important contribution that the coaches make to the competition. This include preparing teams for months prior to the competition, and guiding them the week of the competition. Good coaches teach participants a methodology to efficiently tackle complex business problems, and present their recommendations in professional and convincing presentations.

Participants change year after year, but many coaches return – this continuity is beneficial to the competition and to the business schools they represent. They are also champions of the competition in their schools, raising the level of awareness and the enthusiasm of their students for the challenges that lie ahead. We gain valuable insights into the smooth functioning of the competition from coaches who take part in the coaches’ briefings that take place at the beginning and end of the competition week. We also benefit from new coaches who bring fresh ideas to the table each year.

Each year at the competition, we award the coach(es) from a school who demonstrate excellent mentorship. This award is presented at our Final Banquet ceremony. The criteria and selection process evolve with time. As in the past, all the coaches will be canvassed and asked by secret ballot to express their choices prior to final selection. In cases where there isn’t a unanimous consensus, the Board Members decision will prevail.

We thank Dr. Brunet for his unsurpassed contributions to the success of the competition as faculty member, mentor, board member and chair and for the countless other things he has brought to the competition through his dedication, skill, wit, empathy and clear-mindedness.

Previous Winners

Congratulations to some exceptional coaches in years past:

2018Hagop Panossian, Olayan School of Business
2017Tim Field, Concordia University, John Molson School of Business
2016Renata Blanc, Porto Business School
2015Leo Donlevy,University of Calgary
2014Rüdiger Hahn, Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf (Germany)
2013Renata Blanc, Porto Business School
2012Russell Farmer, University of Alberta
2011Klaus Schüler, Universität Paderborn (Germany)
2010Patrick DeMouy, University of South Carolina
2009Peggy Coady, Memorial University of Newfoundland
2008André Gascon & Mario Cayer, Université Laval
2007Gerd Rainer Wagner, Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf
2006Alex Faseruk, Memorial University of Newfoundland